Cow Sugar Skull

I am in love with this piece. In my freshman art class, we had to draw something with the theme of the Day of The Dead in an assigned artist’s style. I was really lucky and got Georgia O’Keeffe. Immediately I knew that I was going to draw the skull of an animal, how she loves to do, and decorate it like a sugar skull. I sketched out the deer skull, and decided to give it a flower crown of flowers I’ve seen O’Keeffe paint, incorporating her style yet again.

File_006 (1)

I had this sketch lying around, wanting to turn it into a put-together piece, so I scanned it and resized it to fit some recycled paper I made with my dad when I was a little girl.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset
Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

After transferring the drawing, I painted it in with watercolor. I wanted the patterns to be bright in the true sugar skull style, while keeping the muted Western colors that O’Keeffe often used. I really like how it turned out, and it just all means a lot in a weird way. I’ve always loved Georgia O’Keeffe, and the fact that I got her on a project for a culture that I love to study, was amazing to me. As if the stars had aligned just for this drawing. I really like art in the cowboy/Western style, yet I hardly explore it, so this was my first piece in that genre. This final piece just makes me think Tex-Mex (not food, though). The combination of styles is something that I feel just screams Texas to me.

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset
Processed with VSCO with g3 preset
