Telescope Constellation Watercolor

I had sketched out a telescope a long time ago on watercolor paper, planing on painting a landscape around it with it pointed towards a starry sky. I never got around to painting it, and it just sat in my portfolio. I found it while I was cleaning my portfolio out, and finally finished it (it had been about two years). I started by painting the telescope and a cool galaxy coming out of the scope, blowing on the edges to make it feather out.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset
Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Once that dried, I began to sponge on a dark grey watercolor. As I was doing this, I accidentally dripped on the page outside of the galaxy, so I decided to roll with it and make more splatter drops.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset
Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

After this layer finished drying, I went in with a white Jelly Roll pen to add in stars and constellations. I was inspired by the song Cosmic Love by Florence + the Machine. The first line reads “a falling star fell from your heart and landed in my eyes, I screamed aloud, as it tore through them, and left me blind”. I drew dots and connected them, making shapes that I felt pertained to the song. Below is a picture on which I edited on lines so that the shapes are easier to see, as they didn’t pick up that well on camera.

file_000

As for real constellations, I included the little dipper (just for fun) and the constellation for Gemini, as it’s two people holding hands. Above that, I did a feminine pointing finger based off of the Sistine Chapel panel entitled “The Creation of Adam”. I’ve really been into art history lately, so I wanted to include an allusion to that. To the right are a pair of closed eyes. Rightmost is just an open eye. Above that is a deformed heart. At the top are a pair of lips. The closed eyes metaphorically represent protecting your heart by not even seeing or looking at love. The heart is deformed because at the end of the day, it’s still a heart, but after heartbreak it’s forever changed. I included the pointing finger and reference to “The Creation of Adam” to symbolize one person reaching out to, but not quite touching, another.

Below is the final piece. I hope you enjoy it! Made on 1/20/2017.

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset
Processed with VSCO with m3 preset
