Buttercream Rose Cake

*I’m going to sprinkle pictures of the cake among the directions, so the pictures aren’t in the order of action described*

 

I was in the mood to make a cake, so I decided to do just that but also practice my piping. I made a random homemade vanilla cake from a Pinterest recipe I found, and leveled the layers off. I then prepared the basic Wilton buttercream recipe.

Processed with VSCO with acg preset
Processed with VSCO with acg preset

I then filled each layer and assembled the cake. I set it in the freezer for a few minutes, in order to let it set. I gave it a thin crumb coat, and back to the freezer it went.

Processed with VSCO with b5 preset
Processed with VSCO with b5 preset

I wanted this cake to look rustic and almost sloppy in a way, so I went crazy with my trusty Wilton #103 tip. I started at the top of the cake, squeezing lightly as I turned the turn table, making the cake look like a big rose.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset
Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

And ta-da! There’s my big buttercream rose cake! I hope you enjoyed.

