San Jose Mission

I recently took a little trip to San Antonio, Texas. Click here for Day 1’s post at The Alamo and El Mercado. Here’s Day 2.

IMG_6305.JPG

My family decided to visit the San Jose Mission (which translates to Saint Joseph mission).

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset
Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

For those who might not know, missions were built by the Spanish in order to spread Catholicism. They took in, or enslaved the native Indians of Texas, depending on how you look at it. Indians in the missions were protected and had food, but they had to constantly work while also picking up a new language and religion. IMG_6052

The paragraph next to this picture states that “the life of the mission revolved around work and prayer.” My family and I headed into the walls of the big enclosed space of the mission and it was beautiful.

Inside these doors were small rooms with little holes in the walls to shoot canons out of.

Processed with VSCO with acg preset
Processed with VSCO with acg preset

The rooms were also furnished with little fireplaces, and one room was even converted into a gift shop with colorful touches scattered about.

 

In the “courtyard” in the middle of the mission, there were lots of pretty sights to see, but my favorite was seeing the cross on top of the church.

Look at this cute lil’ well!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Then, we went into the gorgeous church.

Processed with VSCO with a4 preset
Processed with VSCO with a4 preset

Stunning, right?

This cross picture just makes me so extremely happy.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset
Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

I have this photography trick that I love where I intentionally overexpose the picture, allowing the sun to stream in. I know, I know that this is technically a photography no-no, but I adore how divine and holy it looks.

See? It’s like God’s smiling down at the church with his pearly whites.

We then went to the Granary/the mill where a lot of food production and work was done.

Ta-da! That was my trip to San Antonio!

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

