Watercolor Tulips

My mom loves tulips. They’re her most favorite flower, and they make her very happy. Once I’d decided that I’d paint her some, I used watercolors and went after it.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I created the middle tulip first by wetting the paper, loading my brush with color, and giving it a flick to get the tulip look (using a very rounded brush). I moved quickly, not bothering to clean my brush before loading it with the next color, so that the colors would bleed and feather together well. I added the green base and stems by using the thin tip of my brush, once again encouraging the colors flowing together. I repeated this to make the other flowers, and added leaves. I wanted this painting to be very organic and unrestricted, giving it a very natural vibe. I liked how it turned out, so I put out my paints, brush, sample paper, and epsom salts to do one of my most favorite things; take a layout photo.

