Watercolor Tulip Painting

My mother happens to love tulips very much. They’re her favorite flower, and she never fails to squeal and have a conniption every time we drive past the ones planted at the entrance of our neighborhood.

I decided that I wanted to paint something for her, so I naturally chose to paint some tulips. I started by wetting my watercolor paper generously and added the colors on top, using the wet on wet method. I let the colors mix into each other to give that effect, and it turned out pretty well, if I do say so myself.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I love taking pictures of my work in a very messy, artsy way because I just feel awkward taking a picture of artwork by itself. In this picture, I surrounded the painting with my test paper, epsom salts, watercolors, and brushes for a nice layout photo.

