Watercolor Hair Painting

One day in art class, I was all caught up on my assignments and had nothing to do. My art teacher had some old matting board (used to cut out mats for photo framing) that she said work really well with watercolor, which is my favorite medium. I was skeptical, I mean, it’s not a common thing for people to be painting on mat boards, but I tried it out of sheer boredom.

IMG_3902

I began by doing a quick sketch of the girls hair, and then jumped right in with the watercolors. I started with a layer of light brown, then added streaks of color on top until it looked semi-realistic. I decided to make the bow and background the same color, so I painted those with a light pink/maroony wash.

I did this piece from start to finish in 30 minutes. It’s approximately 20X26″

